Harbinger Wars #1

Valiant Comics

Release Date:  4/3/13

Words:  Joshua Dysart, Duane Swierczynski

Pictures:  Clayton Crain, Clayton Henry, Mico Suayan

The Sitch:

Project Rising Spirit is dealing with the fall out of Bloodshot’s removal of several psiot children, while Peter Stanchek is preparing for the conflict concerning said psiot children.

The Confession:

I understand that Harbinger Wars is a hugely anticipated crossover event between two big stories in the Valiant Universe, Harbinger and Bloodshot.  I am obviously a Valiant Virgin, so as a VV, I appreciate how the writers took the time to give enough back story and setting up so that this can be a good stand alone story where newbs like me can get hooked in.  I can also see how this may frustrate those dedicated readers who have been waiting to see how this all turns out.  Despite that attention to detail, I still felt like I was walking in on the middle of something.  In my mind crossovers are events dedicated to the most devout of fans.  It takes a lot of time and teasing to get to the point of a crossover and it just does not do it justice to just walk in the middle of an epic story like that.  This book did not change my mind.  The story pulled me in enough to want to read the other story lines in their entirety before going any further with Harbinger Wars itself.  I got just enough interesting bits to make me want to know more… like who is this bleeding monk?  The art work consisting of three different artists to portray three different aspect of the story was interesting.  My favorite of the three being the beautiful flashback sequences by Clayton Henry.  I’m not sure which side to try first though, Harbinger or Bloodshot?

Leave a comment